Goings On

Posted on Updated on

Not a lot. Gearing up for the Holiday madness to begin. I have 4 gifts left to shop for and then stocking stuffers and then I am finished with the shopping. I can take my time with the stuffers, which I am liking. This year instead of buying gifts for everyone the adults drew names and then we are taking care of their stocking too. This way we get more quality in our gift and stocking, we are all buying and stuffing for the kids.

My excitement can hardly be contained. Five days, just five days and we go back to St. Louis; and hopefully we did everything right; and GW transitions to nap and bedtime only with his shoes. We have pretty diligent about sticking to the one hour with the shoes off rule. We (I) have only fudged it a couple times (once on purpose and once not). We are driving over on Sunday and after we check in, have some dinner, we are going to let Tobin swim to his heart’s content or he passes out from exhaustion. I figure it will be a little treat, reward if you will, for being such a great sport and wearing those shoes all the time.

We are thinking he may have a little separation anxiety for a few days after he has his shoes off more than on, but feel it will pass pretty quickly. He will also have to find a new center for gravity for himself. Right now when he has the shoes off, he loses his balance and topples over, again we think he will figure it out pretty quick.  He is mostly on track as far as pulling up, and taking steps (when the shoes are off), eating and sleeping (lots more nights where he is sleeping most of or all of the night).

Turkey day is next week, here is a little poem for you:

I love turkey

I love whippy

Rolls in the taters

Go dip, dippy, dippy

Pies in the oven

Pies in my face

Sweet potatoes so good

They never go to waste

Veggies are ok

Spuds are my fave

Cranberry salad, just

Scoop it up in waves

When your tummy’s stuffed

& you can’t pack more in,

Sit back all satisfied with

A s**t eatin’ grin

Tell us what you are thankful for

And how you have so much

Weepy with the tears

‘cause we’re all really touched.

TBN

3 thoughts on “Goings On

    DaddyZ said:
    November 19, 2009 at 8:40 am

    I am disappointed that your poem didn’t mention the gravy. GRAVY RUTH, GRAVY!!!!!

    Shell said:
    November 19, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    I can’t believe you still have that poem! That cracks me up and makes me feel all warm and fuzzy at the same time.

    Ruth said:
    November 19, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    TBN…I keep it in my calendar so I remember each year.
    Daddy Z…gotta take the gravy up with the poet…although i do love me come gravy mixing it all together

Leave a Reply

