Hoarding

Posted on

I was recently told of a show called Hoarders, it is about people who literally have saved anything and everything “just in case” they might need it. So, I DVR’s it. OMG! There was one family that had so much mold and toxins on the air, it was a 10 out of 10 on the who bad scale.

Most of the time reality shows don’t have any type of impact in me. This show is done in a more documentary style…and really impacted me.  Now I will admit I will never receive the Susie Homemaker of the Year Award, but my house is generally presentable…lived in I would say.  I subscribe to the feeling that I have so many other things I want to do beside clean.  I will also admit I somewhat of a packrat.  However, I am a purger as well.  Once it is decided that it needs to, it’s outta here.

With all of that being said, we are planning a year sale here in a few weeks with my family and I have decided that I need to brutal about cleaning things out over the next two weeks. I plan on cleaning out closets, dressers, desks, anything that can store something will be gone through.  Clean House style…Trash Pile, Keep Pile, Yard Sale Pile.

Next weekend my family is taking Tobin so we can clean out the other side of the basement.  We are going to pull everything out into the driveway, clean the other half, nad get all the shelving arranged. Then we are going to go through all the stuff we brought outside…Clean House style it…Trash Pile, Keep Pile, Yard Sale Pile.

The other half is going to encompass a lot of things. It will be a laundry room, storage room, arts 8& crafts room, tool/shop area. I think I am going to take some before and after pictures of this project.

There are still going to be a few closest I may not get cleaned out: office, Chris’, but I am going to be brutal on the ones I do get to.

Leave a Reply

