How do you Punish your 1yr Old when they laugh in your face while you are trying to be stern

Posted on Updated on

Long title I know…what that is my question for today. How do you punish your 1yr old when they laugh in your face while you are trying to be stern?

Here’s what went down…

My husband’s son, GW & I were sitting the basement playing. He crawled up on my lap with a car or two and was running them over me making car noises…no big deal. He then proceeded to throw my at my head and the other he smacked me in the face with. When I took the cars away he then hit me with his hands…the cars hurt worse.

I got really upset by this behavior. This has been an ongoing issue that we have tried really hard to break this bad habit. I have tried time-outs, taking the toys away, ignoring it…kinda at my wit’s end about it. Today I told him hitting and throwing were “ewwwwww-yuck!” and gave him a stern talking to.  He just looked at me, smiled and laughed.

So, moms/dads, two questions 1) How do you punish your 1yr old when they laugh in your face while you are trying to be stern? 2) How do you get him to stop hitting & throwing things?

Leave a Reply

