Helping to Shape the Idea of Pretty

Posted on Updated on

With all the media and the insecurities in our own heads, it’s up to us as parents to help shape the idea of what is “Pretty” for our children. In a utopian society, there wouldn’t be such severe gauges of what is acceptable or unacceptable.

On the left is a model that is so skinny you can see her ribs…but wait, the model on the left is considered a “Plus Size” model & you can see her ribs as well.

I have never been a skinny gal. To many curves to be labeled as “skinny”…”curvey” yes, “voluptuous” I would cop to that. As I get older I am finding more comfort in my physical form. I am not as hard on myself for not looking anywhere near the “Plus Size” model.

I have noticed a recent trend in what is acceptable & unacceptable for guys as well. This scares me to think that one day my son could be “manorexic”. That he would feel as if he needed to look chiseled and buff. I was pleased to see Glee, somewhat, take a look at this in the Rock Horror episode.

In a few years, my son will enter a world where other people will help shape his mind, hopefully we will have instilled in him a broad idea of what is pretty. Hopefully we will have instilled in him, that it is all of a person..qualities such as; loyalty, personality, compassion, empathy, love, and humor, that make a person pretty. Hopefully we will have instilled in him that the appearance, is just that an appearance, to look beyond the physical and see who a person truly is. Hopefully we will have instilled enough of this in him, to make brilliant friendships and relationships that will last his lifetime.

Today Tobin tunes in & out while I watch Dancing with the Stars. Usually a song may catch his attention, today it was Jennifer Grey. He stopped playing & watched her for a few seconds and said “Pretty.” I was rather proud that he chose the 50-year old actress as the momentary idea of what he perceived as “Pretty.” Although it was most likely based on her appearance, I would like to believe it was a little more than that. I can only hope that it was the appearance of having of so much fun and the happiness that was on her face that made him think she was pretty.

Related Blogs: HTSTIOP and MFIMF

8 thoughts on “Helping to Shape the Idea of Pretty

    Oh to be Freshly Pressed « Life As We Know It said:
    January 21, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    […] is wrinkly (pun intended). On occasion though I have written a witty, emotional, thoughtful or serious post.  There have been posts on parenting, posts that have just been pictures, or ideas (i.e. […]

    My Face is My Fortune « Life As We Know It said:
    February 10, 2011 at 9:34 am

    […] I have noticed several “Search Engine Terms” that have referred people to my post, Helping to Shape the Idea of Pretty. The search terms are mainly: plus size model, plus size models, plus size modeling. In the last […]

    […] to my blog lately. Most of those views are going straight to my post from November 16, 2010 titled Helping to Shape the Idea of Pretty. This week alone; 694 visits to that post. Most of those (if not all) were from various search […]

    laura said:
    April 26, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Search again for Whitney, that isn’t how she looks at all 😉 she has a tummy..

    michelle said:
    June 7, 2011 at 12:37 am

    She is not whitney!!!

      The Mommy said:
      June 7, 2011 at 8:03 am

      I am fairly confidant it is her. If I am wrong I do apologize

        Meliposa said:
        January 5, 2012 at 9:48 am

        She is Whitney.. but she is so mas thinner that she was when she won ANTM

    Claire said:
    February 13, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    Look at any fitness model – you are SUPPOSED to see ribs. Whitney is a nice normal size – thin enough to see rib outlines, but not so skinny you can see arm bones or the spine like some models).

Leave a Reply

