Thanksgiving

Posted on

Last Wednesday as a member of the gym was leaving I wished him a Happy Thanksgiving. His response was that he didn’t celebrate Thanksgiving, that we should give Thanks every day and not just on one “special” day of the year. He compared it to Valentines day, we should love every day not just one “special” day.

I have been thinking about this conversation all weekend. While part of me completely understands where he is coming from, part of me shouts “NO, IT IS NOT THE SAME AS VALENTINES DAY!”

For me, the difference comes down to the feeling, the family, the togetherness. Valentines Day is a day set up for retailers of America, Thanksgiving is largely overlooked by retailers. Why? Because other than the grocery store, there is no money to be made. I think this is one of the reasons my family loves Thanksgiving so much. We also love that it is a wonderful excuse to get family together, near and far.

My friend at the gym pointed out that we should be thankful for our family every day, see them, talk to them, e-mail them every day. I told him that as a family we did do at least one of those every day. But, Thanksgiving was a day to relive the all the wonderful things that had happened to us the last year and be with the ones we want to share it with and to be thankful they were there to share in that love for one more year. It was a day to say to our family “Thank you for being there when I needed you, Thank you for being there when I will need you, Thank you for being my family.” I told him as a family we are pretty vocal all year-long about our Thankfulness of those around us. I also pointed out to him that some have family that live out-of-state & if you are lucky enough you are able to go see them (or they come see you) for that nice long weekend.

I wasn’t able to change his mind, but the conversation stuck with me. I felt sad that he was unable to see a different side to the holiday. While I get the idea of what he has to say…my heart says I think we will have to agree to disagree on this holiday.

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

    your ol' unc. said:
    December 1, 2010 at 1:36 am

    Happy Thanksgiving, Roo. I’m thankful you’re part of my family.

    5 Questions « Schneider Family said:
    December 3, 2010 at 8:31 am

    […] What’s on the top of your holiday wish list and why?!  I really, really, really, really wanted an E-reader this year. In fact I got one. Chris took me to Best Buy & I grilled the guy about all the E-Readers they had. I asked him questions for about 30 minutes before making my decision..I went with the NOOK. What is your favorite Christmas gift from the past? Probably my jewelery armoire. I had been asking for one for years (I have LOTS of jewelery) and had decided one year if I didn’t receive one as a gift I as going to buy one. Come Christmas morning there was large present in the back of the tree….allllllll for ME! My mom and step-father had found one for me and made a few minor repairs on it for me. I got so excited when I opened it that I choked on my own spit. If you had life to do over, what would you be when you grow up? I would be an actress/dancer. I love to play and move, I am aware these are super competitive jobs, but would have loved to do either or both   When do you put up your tree?  Mine is already up.With my schedule already pretty full for December, I took the one week we were pretty slow and out up the tree and decorations.   What is your favorite Holiday?  Ummmmm….Thanksgiving […]

    Catherine said:
    December 5, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    I couldn’t agree more! Thanksgiving is nothing like Valentine’s Day. Not by a long shot!

    Oh to be Freshly Pressed « Life As We Know It said:
    January 21, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    […] time my writing is wrinkly (pun intended). On occasion though I have written a witty, emotional, thoughtful or serious post.  There have been posts on parenting, posts that have just been pictures, or […]

Leave a Reply

