Running? Me? Really?

Posted on Updated on

You remember this bit from this post?

My goals are relatively simple: 1) I want to have the energy to play with my kid(s) 2) there are few items in my closet I am thiiiiiisssssss close to fitting back into 3) I would like to look decent in my swimsuit this summer.

I have been think about these goals and decided they weren’t so much goals as objectives. These three items are the results that I want from getting fit. So now, how do I motivate myself to reach these objectives? Maybe I need a slightly bigger goal (goal in a weird word to me, kinda sounds like ghoul…which isn’t very positive imaging huh? I need a better word than ghoul goal…think we will use…well shoot, no word work quite as well… okay GOAL it is)? The Daddy, Glo-Worm & I were out and about this past weekend and saw a sign for a marathon…no I am not that ambitious…and it my gears turning. Maybe running can be what I do to reach my objectives? Maybe a small 5k to start? Oh, wait, I really dislike running.

Wind Up Monkey - Google Images

I have never been particularly good at it, running that is.  When I was little I was Pigeon Toed, my feet still tend to turn in a little bit. When I get tired they turn in even more. This is where my lack of desire to run comes in, besides that fact that it is running. I am not a graceful person. I have more bruises than one person should be allowed. I bump into things, walk a straight line? Not to save my life (ask The Daddy, it’s true), some times it seems as if depth perception is not a trait I have, I trip over my own feet, regularly run into walls that I KNOW are there…well, you get the point…I have issues. When I run I feel like one of those little wind up toys. All I need a re some cymbals to bang together.

Having said all of that, I am facing my dislike for running and getting over it. Hopefully, by setting a specific goal to reach (a 5k this summer) it will keep me motivated and then I can reach my three result objectives. The Daddy is very supportive of this. Anything that will help me get fit and healthy he is all for.

In support of my new goal, The Daddy & Glo-Worm also got me a new pair of running shoes.

Kinda Cute for RUNNING shoes

My old Sketchers and my Payless tennis shoes are more aesthetic over function, not real good or useful for running. We went to Shoe Zoo Carnival and headed straight to the athletic shoe aisle (I had to keep my head down and focused…the announcer guy was going on and on about the BOGO deals for end of season boots….oh how I wanted to stop). I looked around, found shoes that said RUNNING SHOES and tried one pair on. I walked a little bit, I jumped a little bit…they felt good. We bought them and left (if I stayed much longer I would have made my way to the boots on sale).

This week I started my training. Since I have the privilege of having a FREE membership to the gym I work at and the brains of some fabulous Personal Trainers to pick at my disposal…I utilized my resources. The PT’s said to start running in intervals…walk 3 minutes run 1 minute, then next week walk 2.5 minutes run 1.5 minutes, and continue this pattern until I am running full-time. Armed with this information, I began walking, running, walking, running…I managed to stay in the treadmill (I have visions of me going flying off the treadmill because I let my mind wander. So I run on the treadmill with no other equipment behind it). I have made it through two days.

I try not to think about actually running the 5k. It’s one thing to run on a treadmill…flat surface, no other people around, easy to concentrate. The 5k…people, sidewalks, streets, random objects on the ground…all designed to send me sprawling and adding more bruises to the I already have. Quite frankly, it scares the crap out of me. Running in public, is that a new phobia? I will keep you updated on my progress, hopefully there is progress…

What are your get fit objectives? How do you plan to reach your goals?

4 thoughts on “Running? Me? Really?

    JDaniel4's Mom said:
    July 26, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    Stopping from Time Travel Tuesday! I try to pick the same kind of treadmills you do. It is safer for everyone.

      TM responded:
      July 27, 2011 at 12:54 pm

      I much more comfortable then I used to be…still I pick the ones with the lease amount of stuff behind me

      Thanks for stopping by

    Barbara said:
    July 26, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    I think if the gym was free I would actually go more often! I used to love to just run but sadly with lack of sidewalks and adequate tracks I find myself doing much of nothing now!

      TM responded:
      July 27, 2011 at 12:55 pm

      I was hoping that would have the same affect…but alas it is not to be…kinda like a busman’s holiday…I need to get my booty back in gear though…still just thinking about it

Leave a Reply

