The Toy Story Effect

Posted on Updated on

The new favorite movies of Glo-Worm’s are Toy Story 3 and Shrek the Final Chapter. He loves these movies and watches them repeatedly. He ignores all of his other favorite movies to watch them.

It reminds me of when Uncle Dubby was young. He watched the same movies over and over and over…multiple times a day. He watched them so many times he would use random items in his room to help him act them out. The ones I remember him watching the most were; I Will Fight No More Forever and Where the Red Fern Grows. Neither of the these movies are particularly happy ones, but he loved them.

Which brings me back to my title. Having watched Toy Story 3 now for what seems like the gazillionth (and counting) time, I imagine that Glo-

Images via http://disney.go.com

Worm’s Buzz & Rex “wake-up” when we leave the room to talk, move about and interact with the other toys in his room. I have images of Big Bear trying to keep every one in line and then them dropping right back into place just before we open the door. Same with the toys in our basement too.

I can’t seem to stop thinking about this. What if this really did happen? I wonder what they think of Glo-Worm…do they feel the same love towards Glo-Worm as the felt towards Andy in the movie? I know…apples and oranges…my kid is real, Andy is not, the movie is entertainment and well, I have to admit we as humans are quite entertaining. Then I realized it made me use my imagination; if it made me use mine then surely it will make Glo-Worm use his. Sure enough…today while cleaning up some raisins on the floor…Buzz “had to help, mom.” Glo-Worm placed a raisin

Images via http://disney.go.com

in Buzz’s hand and made sure it went back in the box. There are other instances where Buzz has been used in some game that Glo-Worm is playing or Buzz is being a “big-helper.” Buzz (sometimes Rex) is Glo-Worm’s go-to toy at the moment. “Where my Buzz mom?” “Take Buzz with me daddy.” Glo-Worm can repeat lines from the movie and sometimes uses his toys to reenact a scene.

We try to keep Glo-Worm’s movies/shows to varied. He loves Tom &  Jerry, Rocky & Bullwinkle, he will watch Willow and The Adventures of  Baron Munchausen, he loves Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and Mary Poppins. He also likes any show on Disney Junior. We dislike a lot of the shows like Pokemon; mostly because they make no sense…hmmmm, I think we are showing our age. We would rather him be out of the loop with some of the other kids, but we still try to keep him in the loop with more current movies (hence the Toy Story & Shrek movies). There are a few other classic movies we want to get him, but we are in no hurry.

What movies are your kids favorites and why? What movies from when you were a kid have you introduced them to that they now love? Which movies have your kids watched so many times they can act them out?

8 thoughts on “The Toy Story Effect

    dscotti said:
    February 24, 2011 at 7:43 am

    We try to limit what our kids watch too, and like you, we are fans of Disney Jr. and Nick Jr. I think it’s funny, I also wonder what they toys get up to when we aren’t around!
    Great post!
    Denise
    bestparent.wordpress.com

    Ipodman said:
    February 24, 2011 at 8:43 am

    I loved Toy Story when I was a kid! In fact, I still love it now… and I still can quote it to this day. Toy Story 3 was awesome as well.

    Pokemon is cool, I remember having the trading cards and protecting them with my life… :/

    ournote2self said:
    February 24, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    Hey there! We mentioned you in our latest blog. Check it out.

      The Mommy said:
      February 25, 2011 at 2:58 pm

      Thank you again…I have my Stylish Bloggers ready to post on Monday. Had to pre-prepare for next week, The Daddy is hijacking the computer

    Thank you (you made me blush) « Life As We Know It said:
    February 28, 2011 at 6:46 am

    […] I am lacking in the imagination department right (completely taken up with talking toys), I am going to steal borrow the questions used by my wonderful […]

    She's a Maineiac said:
    March 23, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    I know every single line to every single Toy Story movie. Both kids were/are obsessed! My son has since moved on to things like “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” My daughter still clings to her faves Jessie and Bullseye.

      The Mommy said:
      March 23, 2011 at 3:09 pm

      He loves, loves, loves those movies and Shrek. He often is climbing or hanging on some thing that is a “princess tower” to go save Fiona. He go to toys are his Buzz, Woody, & T-Rex when we are inside…outside it’s swords 🙂 I just got several videos of him playing with the “boys” but have never quite figured out how to get them into a post

        She's a Maineiac said:
        March 24, 2011 at 4:25 pm

        I thought my son would never outgrow Toy Story. He was always dragging Buzz and Woody around with him. He had Toy Story sheets too…in a strange way, I kinda long for those days again as they are already over…sniff, sniff…

Leave a Reply

