Helping to Shape the Idea of Pretty Part 2

Posted on Updated on

So there has been a significant spike in views to my blog lately. Most of those views are going straight to my post from November 16, 2010 titled Helping to Shape the Idea of Pretty. This week alone; 694 visits to that post. Most of those (if not all) were from various search topics. The main search components were about plus size modeling. This post continues to make me re-evaluate how I look at myself, how I look at other people, how I want to raise our child(ren)

Some Information From My Stat Pages

Some Information From My Stat Pages

I have mixed feelings about the increased traffic. On one hand, how exciting so many are finding their way to my site. On the other, the “searchers’ are probably looking for some thing more than what my post can provide. Being a curious cat, I took to the various search engines. Using the same search terms from my Stat page, I never found the link to my blog. After 15+ pages, the ladies (gents?) who are researching the topic of plus size modeling are looking for some serious answers if they went deep enough to find my page. I am pretty sure the answers are NOT in my posts.

After several drafts, I am still unsure of the direction I want this post to take

  • Do I want to re-iterate our hopes of helping our child(ren) shape a broad view of what pretty can be?
  • Do I hope the new visitors enjoy my post, even if it wasn’t that they thought? Hope they come away with positive feelings?
  • Are these even the points that I want to make?

People have a tendency to be snarky, mean, hateful, even downright cruel about how others look. I will confess to having been one of “Those People.” Guessing you have to? I’ve found when I am my worst it’s because I am feeling inadequate about my body. It’s a domino effect; I feel bad about myself, to feel better I am going to make you feel worse.

This year I am making peace with my body. Finding peace with my shape. Finding peace with being okay no matter what shape I am. Part of the peace comes with a little enlightenment:

  1. If we can’t feel good about our bodies, how can we teach our kid(s) to have a positive body image?
  2. There are several things about myself I like: My smile, my laughter (I have been told “you have a very healthy laughter”), my legs (especially in heels), and my positive attitude.
  3. The Daddy loves me no matter what I look like

I have been asked; “If you could make your body look like anyone who would it be?” My choice for the longest time has been Cheryl Burke from Dancing with the Stars. She is fit, but still real looking. Her body shape doesn’t seem out the realm of possibility. I am aware it takes a lot of work to be in that good of shape, but if I could wake up one day with my body shape of choice it would like hers.

Photo via People.com

So I guess the overall feeling I want you leave with, POSITIVITY. Feel good about yourself. Find those attributes about yourself you like, even love. Look at the things you like less and find a way to accept them. Take those positive feelings and use them for good; teach your kids about healthy body images (lead by example), instead of criticizing complement some one. When you project a positive, confident attitude others will want to be like you. You can influence a healthy change without even knowing it.

I challenge you to practice POSITIVITY. Make a conscious effort to find the positive in as many situations as you can. They say it takes 30days to form a new habit…just think of the possibilities! Take 30days to form a positive habit, which becomes a lifetime positive habit, and that has nothing but, well…POSITIVE results.

8 thoughts on “Helping to Shape the Idea of Pretty Part 2

    happykidshappymom said:
    March 10, 2011 at 8:22 am

    Great post. You’re right — we all need to broaden our ideas of beautiful. And I’ll take you up on your positivity challenge! Also, wanted to let you know I re-nominated you for the Stylish Blogger Award:

    http://wp.me/p1jBAi-ag

    You don’t have to answer the questions again — but I just wanted to let you know I love your blog.

      The Mommy said:
      March 11, 2011 at 11:03 am

      Thank you! I love reading yours too! It’s kinda like getting to be a fly in the wall in my own home 🙂 when I read your about parenting, family, & life

    livelaughloveliquor said:
    March 10, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    I once read that a woman in her 70’s remarked she would KILL for her body back from when she was in her 40’s, although she did not appreciate it back then. beauty and size are all relative to how we see ourselves, and as women its so easy for that perspective to bring us down.

    I wish i didn’t care, but I do!.

      The Mommy said:
      March 11, 2011 at 7:36 am

      Isn’t that the truth? As hard as we don’t not want to care how we look….we always do.

    hitch mount bike rack said:
    March 10, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    very nice website, enjoy the way you write, you definitely do hold a flair for writing, will be viewing this website quite often

      The Mommy said:
      March 11, 2011 at 11:00 am

      Thank you so much for the compliment. I am so glad you enjoy it.

    […] Blogs: HTSTIOP and […]

    […] When I was little I wanted to be a movie star. Now that I see how much privacy stars (even pseudo stars) don’t have, I am so glad I didn’t persue that career. Although I do occassionally […]

Leave a Reply

