Television

Posted on Updated on

I LOVE TV! I have been a little couch potato for…well, as long as I can remember.

I have memories of getting my own little 13″ black & white TV for Christmas one year. TBN & I had it sitting on top of one our cabinets in our room so we could both see it. I remember trying to trick mom & dad on Saturday mornings that we were still asleep, but in reality we were watching Saturday morning cartoons (the good ones…Smurfs, Looney Tunes, etc) we had turned the volume all the way down (manually not by remote)…we thought we were sooooo sneaky…yeah not really. They knew and they called us on it each-and-every-weekend.

I think back, with my same little TV and my make-shift room in the basement watching BarneMiller…HUGE FAN of that show. I think I have seen every episode multiple times. I would fall asleep with my little TV going…once again with no sound (mom & dad’s room was right above me).

Barney Miller Cast - Image via sitcomsonline.com

We watched Little House on the Prairie every day after school with our dad. I never watch this show with out thinking of him. The bus would drop us off at 3:45p, we had enough time to put our bags away, fix an after school snack and then sit down & watch the show. We had shows we watched as a family: Rosanne, Home Improvement, Dallas, A-Team, & McGuyver are the ones I think of first. In the summer months soap operas: All My Children, One Life to Live, General Hospital (I saw Luke & Laure get married).

My new favorite thing about TV…DVR. This is the coolest thing ever. I NEVER have to watch commercials again. I can record all the shows I love, some of the ones The Daddy likes, and watch them on my time. One of the shows The Daddy & I watch together is Law & Order: SVU. I was totally freaked out by Rose McGowan this week (she was guest starring)…her face is totally jacked. She looks a little like the Joker (Jack Nicholson style)…I mean it….look:

Rose McGowan - Image via http://www.starpulse.com
Rose McGowan - Image via http://www.caughtonset.com

I was a regular watcher of Charmed. It got a little goofy…okay a lot goofy at times. Overall it was a fun show to watch.

Our DVR is taken up with mostly cop type shows. I have my fun stuff like American Idol, DWTS, ANTM, & SYTYCD. I also like a lot of shows like Stargate Universe, Bones, House, Hawaii Five-0, & Lie to Me.

Since the arrival of Glo-Worm, the watching of TV has moved to the background. What we want to watch doesn’t matter any more. We get to watch one, maybe two shows before we crash at night, and this after we have caught up on our days (we work opposite shifts). I don’t mind so much, especially now that the weather is starting to get nicer. Our TV time mostly consists of Imagination Movers, Mickey Mouse, Handy Manny, & Chuggington now. It could be worse, I could have to watch Jersey Shore.

What are the shows that you remember watching? Do you have a special memory tied to those shows?

2 thoughts on “Television

    beckyyk said:
    April 1, 2011 at 11:32 am

    I used to LOVEEEE Charmed. It was a three-four year obsession for me hahaa. I would record every episode on VHS and re watch them.
    I can’t believe what Rose now looks like!! EEK!

    She looks better before in my scholarly opinion.

      The Mommy said:
      April 1, 2011 at 2:32 pm

      I watched all the season’s of Charmed…VHS, DVR’d…She looked way better before. When I watching SVU, I was trying to figure out what that weird thing she was doing with her mouth…turns out was just bad surgery, too bad cuz i thought she as pretty before

Leave a Reply

