Healthy Sauce Recipe From My Husband’s Boss

Posted on Updated on

This what The Daddy’s Boss sent by way of recipe…

Take a small square roasting pan and put in cut up red peppers, tomatoes, mushrooms and anything else your heart desires.  I drizzle olive oil over the veggies and then sprinkle other spices like oregano, basil onion powder, garlic salt.  Put in oven at 425 degrees for 15 mins.  When done, empty pan in blender and add 2-3 oz. fat-free cream cheese and about ½ cup of chicken or veggie broth.  (add more or less to taste!)  Blend!  Pour over pasta and shake some parmesan cheese on top.
 

This is how it translated into pictures for you. I say translated, because there was no real defined amount of how many veggies to use only the cream cheese & broth. For some reason (thinking it may be because I’m an 80 year old grandmother in a 36 year old body?) I am unable to cook small amounts of food. There is this desire to feed people. I perceive that I have virtual army in my household to cook for, it’s only the three of us.

These are the ingredients you will need, besides your choice of veggies
I covered my cookie sheet with foil (fewer dishes later), cut up all my veggies, sprayed them with Olive Oil, sprinkled the herbs, garlic & onion powder. Then placed in oven at 425 for 20 minutes
Looks the same as the last picture? Not quite...these are fresh from the oven...If you try real hard you might be able to smell them & they smell fabulous.
You take all your veggies (in my case, 1/2 my veggies), 3 ounces of Fat Free or Less fat Cream Cheese, 1/2 cup of Chicken Broth and Puree the heck out of it.
Cook your pasta (I choose cheese tortellini) as directed. Pour some sauce and top with cheese.
Since I had no idea how many veggies to use, I ended up with a double batch of sauce. So, I placed some in a freezer bag and it is lying flat in my freezer right now getting all froze up.

I think I am going to add a few more tomato’s next time.

Leave a Reply

