The Importance of Being Granna

Posted on Updated on

Some times, I forget just how many lives my mom touches. To me, she is Mom. To others she is sister, Granna or friend. To some she is a life giver-backer.

My mom is quite spectacular. She raised us with love and confidence. She raised us with openness of mind and heart. She raised us to be polite and respectful. She raised us to be independent. All of those traits she raised us with gave us the skills to raise our own children.

But some times, I forget how many lives my mom touches. My mom  is a therapist. She helps people with a variety of issues; psychological, addiction, abuse to name a few. She treats all her patients with compassion, empathy and caring. My mom wants to help them get their lives back. You can read all about her here.

A few days ago at work I was having a casual conversation with one of our members. We were talking about her over-all health improvements & some others ways to help keep her on track. As our conversation progressed she said she keeps telling her co-workers they need to join the gym & come with her.  My curiosity was piqued, I thought maybe I could help with a corporate discount. Those thoughts disappeared over the rest of our discussion:

Me: “Where do you work at?”

Member: “Stepping Stone.”

Me: “Really? My mom used to work there years ago.”

Member: ” What was her name? I’ve been there awhile.”

Me: “Kate Kelley-Rosenmeier.”

Member: “Kate Rosenmeier is your mom?”

Me: “Yep”

Member: “Long story short I have been sober for 20 1/2 years and I have your mom to thank for that. I was in group and I was stubborn. Lord, they brought your mom in to work on me. She busted through all my defenses and broke me down and helped me to release all my pain. I will be forever grateful to your mom for that.”

Some times I get reminded just how many lives my mom touches and makes better.

One thought on “The Importance of Being Granna

    Repost – PTSD Therapy « Life As We Know It said:
    July 26, 2011 at 9:52 am

    […] brings me to Perri’s most recent post about PTSD. It kinda relates back to this post about Granna. She used one of her therapy techniques to help out my sister (technically in-law, but I’m […]

Leave a Reply

